Thankyou for your Donation

Donate

Recent Donations
Dave
$10.00 USD
5 days ago
Madmaverick
£10.00 GBP
8th Sep
Chat Box
Online Members
None
Online Guests: 4
Top Posters
WhatsUpDoc
107 posts

camell513
28 posts

Riggy
23 posts

{PST} Eaglesnuke
19 posts

Grim
17 posts

Dave
16 posts

{PST}Cheese
14 posts

Madmaverick
12 posts

wayne
7 posts

msgttieken
6 posts

Flag Counter
Australia OR Taunus or Both
Forum » Forums » Arma3
Do we keep Australia or should I create a Wasteland on Taunus?

Australia!!
0
Taunus?!!
2
Keep Both!!
3

Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
24th Apr

So it appears the Australia server has been pretty much dead so I suggest we go with Taunus, the map & video Rocky posted on the front page. Australia is great but Taunus is just beautiful..

The only con to Taunus is its not an island so I would have to put up borders on the outer part of the map so players don't wander off the map into pretty much nothing just flat land where there is nothing.

Up to you guys...

Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
29th Apr

1. Okay I just completed on setting up the towns on Taunus which was daunting to say the least.  COMPLETETED!!!

2. Next is to move and create the General, Weapons and Vehicle Stores on the map.

3.Then after that I will have to move the mission markers all over the map in the right places. COMPLETED!!!

4. After that I will have to create new way points for some of those missions.

5. Create new bases for Blufor and Opfor. Make the opfor base larger for sure. I will most likely move these two bases into Australia and if you guys like them I can move them into Altis.
With the bases I am going to change up the base door and we are going to use something else. In the Operation:Trebuchet there are some very nice metal doors we can use to replace these concrete ones. Also I am going to attempt to do away with the Domes so each base will have 2 main doors that will be triggered the same way as the dome doors in ways. We will see..

I should be finished with A3Wasteland Taunus some time this week.

Like (1) · Comments (0)
Last Edit: 1st May by WhatsUpDoc
Joined: 21st Mar 2016
Rank: --
Likes 1
30th Apr

when I first saw the Aussie map it was cool, still is, but almost to big. The new map looks good, but what size compared to the others is it? .Doc u have done amazing work on them but how much time can u spend on it?I don't know if we can keep all maps with the quality we need, . Stratis is to small Altis is about right and Austrailia is almost to big for me. I will look at Taunus closer before my vote
Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
1st May

Taunus is most likely the best map out of all of them. It only lacks water as it was built from a real mountain range and valley in Germany. Look up Taunus, Germany on google maps and you will understand. Taunus is IMHO the best of all the maps because of the forests that was lacking in many other maps. Instead of looking at the videos download Taunus through steam workshop, open the Eden editor, put down a helicopter on the ground and press play then fly around the map to get a better view of the map. This is how I look at maps. I just don't look at videos. After I complete Taunus I am going to start work on Wake Island which is another map.

Don't worry about how much time I spend on them Dave, this is what I want to do as it keeps me somewhat busy and this helps me a lot. I just work on them at my pace, a little each day.
Like (1) · Comments (0)
Last Edit: 1st May by WhatsUpDoc
Joined: 21st Mar 2016
Rank: --
Likes 1
1st May

ok doc you made up my mind, Taunus it is. Get to work
Joined: 21st Mar 2016
Rank: --
Likes 1
1st May

I looked at over 10 videos on Taunus last night and they all seem to like it. Now most were from around Christmas so it was sort of unfinished. But it did look good.
Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
1st May

Will have it completed this week. I am moving the stores in place and then all I have to do is setup way points then I will put it up on the test server. Then I will work on the bases for blufor and opfor and add the single bases around the map.
Joined: 3rd Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 2
2nd May

Cant wait, Australia was to barren to do much, Tanus is HUGE but is not empty and barren
Blufor should be close to the huge airfield down south westish, that would be a perfect spot, we deserve a nice spot since we will use it, opfor could have the airfield north east then we could dogfight! just for shits and giggles See if you could put the aircraft carrier in, like levitating in the air as a refuel spot in between the bases.
Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
2nd May

Don't think we want any bases or stuff like that in the "air" cameron.

All I have to do currently is setup the Way points for the missions then I will be done, so hopefully tomorrow evening it will be completed.

My next map will be Wake Island and I want to put the USS Nimitz on that map so F18s and another jet will be added because those are the jets that work with the aircraft carrier's take off and landing system. Wake Island may be more of capture the flags and complete the missions type map, don't know yet if having bases on that map will be good. Have to wait and see.
Last Edit: 2nd May by WhatsUpDoc
Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
2nd May

Okay one thing that I came up with was a type of dynamic territory setup so each time the server restarts the territories may change randomly but in groups.

Meaning: Instead of having the same territories over and over on restart they will dynamically change depending on which territory array Arma 3 chooses. I am going to create multiple files (4-5) with a lot territories in them. Then whenever the server restarts Arma 3 will randomly choose one of these files and load in the territories from that file. There can be of course a 50-50 chance that the same file may be chosen twice, that is how random is always set unless other wise coded. So, expect to see random territories in Taunus!!!! If it works then I will work on redoing Altis in the same way. This way players won't get use to having the same territory markers in the same spot on each restart.
Joined: 26th May 2016
Rank: --
Likes 7
3rd May

This is daunting!!! Setting up the markers takes up so much time so I am going to do it right the first time so I don't have to do it again. There are shortcuts like being able to right click on the marker then copying the marker position to clipboard. But Bohemia and their brains did not add a Z coordinate to the marker's attributes. Z is the elevation of something above the ground or sea. So I have to manually move the marker above the ground or above the floor of a house to figure out the Z coordinate. Then manually input that in the script, so this is going to take some time longer than I thing. I works on a few at a time.
Forum » Forums » Arma3
Please login or register to reply.
Game Tracker
Photo Gallery
View All
Newest Members
HKS-Sgt.York
19th Aug

Robert
30th Jun

Praxis
27th Jun

Trailrider
18th Jun

hobart
24th May
TeamSpeak 3 Status
Events
« Sep 2017 »
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
 
 
 
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
World Map
Visitors Tracker
Time Zones

Australia (AEST)

11:01:51 PM

USA (PST)

05:01:51 AM

UK (GMT)

02:01:51 PM